Send this article to Promobot

Whalers place 7 on all-state football roster

November 3rd, 2017 | Tommy Wells Print this article   Email this article  

The Barrow Whalers added a few more impressive notes to their 2017 football season last week when seven Whalers, including head coach Chris Battle, were named to the Division III all-state football roster. Overall, more than 30 athletes from across the state were honored by the Alaska Football Coaches Association.

Battle was named the AFCA Division III Coach of the Year for guiding Barrow to its first-ever state football championship. Under Battle, Barrow rolled to the Aurora Conference title and then defeated Homer, 20-14, in the state championship game. Overall, Barrow finished the season at 7-2.

Senior Ben Heather highlighted the Whalers' first-team offense selections. The team's leading rusher in the state finals, he was tabbed the first-team fullback.

Joining Heather on the offensive roster were tight end Sione Tuifua and utilityman Travis Adams. Brian Filipo amd Sebastian Sias were both selected to the first-team defense as lineman. Tuifua was a first-team pick as an outside linebacker.

Homer had the most players named to the first- and second-team squads with eight.

All-State Football Awards

Offensive Player of the Yea?— Teddy Croft, Homer.

Defensive Player of the Yea?— Reed Graham, Houston.

Lineman of the Yea?— Scott Fry, Eielson.

Coach of the Yea?— Chris Battle, Barrow.

Assistant Coach of the Yea?— Don Fry, Eielson.

First-team offense

Quarterback — Teddy Croft, Homer

Running back — Noah Fisk, Homer; Jeramiah Brown, Eielson

Fullback — Ben Heather, Barrow

Wide receiver — Joe Ravin, Homer

Tight end — Sione Tuifua, Barrow

Tackle — Lau Takafua, Barrow; Kevin Baird, Eielson

Guard — Reed Graham, Houston; Ryan Armour, Eielson

Center — Scott Fry, Eielson

Utility — Travis Adams, Barrow.

First-team defense

Defensive line — Levi King, Homer; Brian Filipo, Barrow; Sebastian Sias, Barrow; Scott Fry, Eielson

Inside linebacker — Reed Graham, Houston; David Sanarov, Voznesenka

Outside linebacker — Noah Plum, Houston; Sione Tuifua, Barrow

Defensive back — Jeramiah Brown, Eielson; Joe Ravin, Homer; Isaac Minnema, Monroe.

First-team special teams

Kicker — Zach Paul, Eielson

Punter — Kyle Sadergren, Valdez

Return specialist — Isaac Minnema, Monroe

Long snapper — Derek Berg, Valdez.

Second-team offense

Quarterback — Trae Puryear, Monroe

Running back — Noah Plumb, Houston; Kyler Rumfelt, Redington

Fullback — Ian Johnson, Nikiski

Wide receiver — Justin Sumption, Homer; Jordan Higbee, Monroe

Tight end — Brian Amirault, Redington

Tackle — Baker Hensley, Nikiski; Finn Heimbold, Homer

Guard — Justin Mullings, Nikiski; Isaac Acheryok, Redington

Center — Levi King, Homer

Utility — Dawson Felde, Homer.

Second-team defense

Defensive line — Dylan Jackson, Houston; Baker Hensley, Nikiski; Nikit Anufriev, Voznesenka; Kyle Wells, Homer

Inside linebacker — Josh Grey, Monroe; Ian Johnson, Nikiski

Outside linebacker — Eli Benson, Redington; Noah Fisk, Homer

Defensive back — Christian Bolton, Eielson; Tyler Olsen, Nikiski. Aiden Norris, Redington.

Second-team special teams

Kicker — Michael Mysing, Nikiski

Punter — Kyle Wells, Homer

Return specialist — David Sanarov, Voznesenka

Long snapper — Beau Freiberg, Seward.


Copyright 2018 The Arctic Sounder is a publication of Alaska Media, LLC. This article is © 2018 and limited reproduction rights for personal use are granted for this printing only. This article, in any form, may not be further reproduced without written permission of the publisher and owner, including duplication for not-for-profit purposes. Portions of this article may belong to other agencies; those sections are reproduced here with permission and Alaska Media, LLC makes no provisions for further distribution.