Send this article to Promobot

Sage, Hailstone sprint to wins in Noorvik

September 15th, 2017 | Tommy Wells Print this article   Email this article  

Running on her home course, Carol Hailstone didn't have any trouble finding her way to the finish line on Saturday. Everyone else, however, had a real hard time finding her.

Hailstone raced to the Noorvik Invitational Cross Country Meet's varsity girls' title with ease, edging out Noatak's Miah Wolfe by more than a minute. One of four Noorvik runners to finish in the top 10, Hailstone was the only female runner to break the 23-minute plteay. She covered the 5-kilometer course in a time of 22 minutes, 21 seconds.

Wolfe claimed second-place honors with a time of 23:36.

Selawik's Laura Ramoth finished third. She checked in with a time of 24:37 - more than 2 minutes behind Hailstone.

Laney Sheldon, Eva Foster and Angel Commach added to Noorvik's accolades by finishing fourth, sixth and eighth, respectively. Sheldon crossed the finish line at 25:31, while Foster followed Kotzebue's Kayla Booth in the standings with a time of 26:28. Commach was eighth with a time of 27:03.

Booth netted fifth with a time of 25:44.

Jacquelyn Berlin paced Buckland's efforts in the race. She ran her way to a seventh-place mark with a time of 26:45.

Like Hailstone, Noatak's Amos Sage and Robert Sheldon owned the boys' race by racing to first and second, respectively.

Sage had no trouble claiming the top spot in the boys' race. He posted a winning time of 17:57 and finished more than a minute ahead of Sheldon, who checked in at 19:05.

Sheldon held off a hard push from Kotzebue's Mikey Hensley to take second. Hensley sprinted across the finish line just 2 seconds after Sheldon at 19:07.

Joshua Wade gave Noatak three of the top five spots in the boys' race. He completed the 3.1-mile trail in fifth with a time of 19:51. Noorvik's Justice Ballott was fourth.

Buckland's Kalden Melton held off a barrage of Kotzebue runners to claim the boys' Middle School crown. He finished the race with a mark of 20:33.

Kotzebue's Aiden Ivanoff, Devin Sheldon and Cody Kramer finished second, third and fourth, respectively. Deering's Robert Cleveland rounded out the top five.

Kotzebue standout Zaida Baldwin won the girls' middle school division. She turned in a time of 22:06 and edged out teammate Kaila Short by almost a minute. Noorvik's Qutan Hailstone placed third in her first-ever meet.

Noorvik's Natasha Bailey and Kobuk's Ella Horner completed the girls' top five spots.

Kotzebue swept the top spots in the Elementary division. Finn Gregg took the boys' honors with a time of 13:33. Buckland's Nolan Tickett was second. Aurora Sweeny claimed the girls' Elementary crown with a run of 15:05. Buckland's Nicole Tickett took second.


Copyright 2018 The Arctic Sounder is a publication of Alaska Media, LLC. This article is © 2018 and limited reproduction rights for personal use are granted for this printing only. This article, in any form, may not be further reproduced without written permission of the publisher and owner, including duplication for not-for-profit purposes. Portions of this article may belong to other agencies; those sections are reproduced here with permission and Alaska Media, LLC makes no provisions for further distribution.