Barrow High School cheerleaders nail the finale during the 2017 ASAA/First National Bank Cheerleading Championship. They went home with their third straight win. - Courtesy of Tommy Wells

Send this article to Promobot

Barrow cheerleaders nab third-straight state title

March 31st | Tommy Wells, The Arctic Sounder Print this article   Email this article  

The Barrow High School cheerleaders went into the 2017 ASAA/First National Bank Cheerleading Championships on March 22 at the Alaska Airlines Center with a very simple goal — win their third straight state championship.

Mission accomplished.

The Lady Whalers nailed down a three-peat with a stellar performance. The nine-member team finished as the highest-scoring squad in the Non-Building division and easily outdistanced Su-Valley and Palmer for the top spot.

"I think they did the most amazing job," said BHS cheerleading coach Theresa Knapp. "The exceeded their score from last year. They really went out and danced their hearts out. It was, I think, their best performance of the year, and it came at the right time."

During the competition, the Barrow cheerleaders were required to perform a team chant, as well as a dance routine in front of a large crowd. In both, Barrow left little doubt as to their talent.

"I think all of the hard work we put in during the season really paid off," said senior Janessa Vinas. "You never know what to expect (at the state meet) because all of the teams here are good. We just tried to come out and do our best."

Members of Barrow's 2016-17 cheer squad included Janessa-Jane Vinas, Gregory Kienholz, Tricia Solis-Gandia, Viveka Hernandez, Jayna Wolgemuth, Bea Ortilla, Kiana Ortilla, Madison Nicely, McJun Nobleza and Vernon Elavgak.

Barrow was one of several Alaska cheer teams to collect state titles at the event. In all, championships were awarded in four divisions, including the Small-School, Large-School and Co-ed divisions.

Lathrop High School repeated as the state's small-school champion by edging out five other teams for the top spot. Bethel Regional High School finished second. In the large school division, the Colony High School squad emerged as champions, while Juneau-Douglas took the co-ed title.

Colony was awarded the Grand Champion honors at the event. Barrow had claimed the overall top spot a year ago.


Copyright 2017 The Arctic Sounder is a publication of Alaska Media, LLC. This article is © 2017 and limited reproduction rights for personal use are granted for this printing only. This article, in any form, may not be further reproduced without written permission of the publisher and owner, including duplication for not-for-profit purposes. Portions of this article may belong to other agencies; those sections are reproduced here with permission and Alaska Media, LLC makes no provisions for further distribution.