Send this article to Promobot

Unalakleet, Point Hope claim championships

March 18th | Tommy Wells, The Arctic Sounder Print this article   Email this article  

The Unalakleet Wolfpack and Point Hope Harpoonerettes both had plenty of reason to smile last weekend at the conclusion of the 2017 Region 1-2A Championships.

They also had reason to purchase tickets to the Class 2A state tournament.

Unalakleet and Point Hope nailed down the boys' and girls' championships, respectively, and clinched berths in the state tournament, which is scheduled to tip off this week at the Alaska Airlines Center.

Unalakleet, backed by solid play from Taylor Harvey and Arctic Ivanoff, edged out the Point Hope boys for the top spot in the tournament standings. Nichole Hank, Brodgett Oviok and Jordyn Lane helped the Point Hope girls hold off a strong challenge from Chevak to net the girls' top seed.

The Point Hope boys and Chevak girls also advance to state.

Hank, Oviok and Lane were all selected to the Region I-2A all-tournament team. Joining them on the squad were Chevak's Thomasina Tall, Margaret Chayalkun and Charity Boyscout. Also named to the all-tournament squad were Unalakleet's Kyley Katchatag, and Hooper Bay's Anesia Joe and Corrine Gump.

Point Hope's Mario Casados, Patrick Turner and Charlie Tuzroyluk highlighted the boys' all-tournament squad. They were joined on the 10-man squad by Harvey, Ivanoff and fellow Unalakleet star Aiden Ivanoff, and Chevak's Jaden Ulroan and Shain Hardiman-Agimuk. Hooper Bay's Rudolf Smith and Bradley Lake were also named to the squad.

Final results


First Place? Unalakleet

Second Place? Tikigaq

Academic Award? Unalakleet

Sportsmanship? Unalakleet

All Tournament Selections

Taylor Harvey - Unalakleet

Mario Casados - Tikigaq

Arctic Ivanoff - Unalakleet

Jaden Ulron - Chevak

Bradley Lake- Hooper Bay

Patrick Turner - Tikigaq

Aiden Ivanook - Unalakleet

Shain Hardiman-Agimu? - Chevak

Rudolf Smith - Hooper Bay

Charlie Tuzroyluk - Tikigaq


First Place? Tikigaq

Second Place? Chevak

Academic ? Tikigaq

Sportsmanship? Chevak

All Tournament Selection?

Thomasina Tall - Chevak

Nichole Hank - Tikigaq

Jewel Wilson - Unalakleet

Bridgett Oviok - Tikigaq

Anesia Joe - Hooper Bay

Margaret Chayalkun - Chevak

Kyley Katchatag - Unalakleet

Jordyn Lane - Tikigaq

Charity Boyscout - Chevak

Corrine Gump - Hooper Bay


Copyright 2017 The Arctic Sounder is a publication of Alaska Media, LLC. This article is © 2017 and limited reproduction rights for personal use are granted for this printing only. This article, in any form, may not be further reproduced without written permission of the publisher and owner, including duplication for not-for-profit purposes. Portions of this article may belong to other agencies; those sections are reproduced here with permission and Alaska Media, LLC makes no provisions for further distribution.