Send this article to Promobot

NSBSD harriers compete in Delta Junction

September 16th 1:39 pm | Tommy Wells, The Arctic Sounder Print this article   Email this article   Create a Shortlink for this article

The North Slope Borough School District boys' and girls' cross country athletes turned in solid performances this past weekend at the Delta Junction Invitational Cross Country Meet. In all, 18 area runners participated in the meet.

Alaina Wolgemuth and Melissa Nicely helped lead the Barrow Lady Whalers in another outstanding effort. The BHS girls had five runners finish in the top 45 positions and raced to fifth in the team standings.

One of the state's best runners, Wolgemuth sprinted to a fifth place mark in the individual standings. She finished the 5-kilometer course in a time of 20 minutes and 5 seconds. Her time was just 5 seconds behind Palmer's Ruby Woodings, who finished third overall. West Valley's Kendall Kramer took first with a mark of 18:54. Glennallen's Briahna Gerlach was second at 19:05.

Nicely also turned in a stellar outing, placing in the top 15. She finished 14th overall with a time of 21:21.

Sara Wolgemuth, Rebecca Masterson and Jayna Wolgemuth also did well in the meet. Sara Wolgemuth finished 38th, while Masterson and Jayna Wolgemuth finished 41st and 42nd, respectively.

Anaktuvuk Pass had three runners competing in the meet, including Dominique Ekak, Abigail Fry and Sole Anderson. Ekak finished 34th in a time of 24:43. Fry and Anderson took 47th and 49th, respectively.

On the boys' side, the Whalers had six runners compete in the meet and finished eighth in the team standings. The BHS boys tallied 207 points, just seven points behind Monroe Catholic.

Trevor Thomas led the Whalers' efforts in the meet. The senior finished 32nd overall with a time of 19:45.

Galena's Jacob Moos won the boys' race with a time of 16:26. Lathrop's Logan Mowry and Palmer's Leif Mumma placed second and third, respectively.

Esau Weyiouanna and Michael Hopson also did well for Barrow, Weyiouanna placed 46th at 21:22, while Hopson took 47th at 21:23. JohnRick Nobleza and Jonathan Hopson placed 65th and 69th.

Point Lay's Ethan Tukrook was the top non-BHS finisher in the meet. He placed 33rd overall with a time of 20 minutes. Point Hope's Jalen Cannon and Anaktuvuk Pass' Chase Nay also did well. Cannon was 37th in the boys' standings while Nay was 39th.

Point Lay's Burton Redford was 44th.

Anaktuvuk Pass also picked up a 56th-place effort from Josh Morry.

Team Scores

1. Lathrop 32

2. Palmer 49

3. West Valley 64

4. North Pole 131

5. Glennallen 149

6. Hutchison 163

7. Monroe Catholic 200

8. Barrow 207

9. Ben Eielson 219

10. Delta Junction 231


Copyright 2016 The Arctic Sounder is a publication of Alaska Media, LLC. This article is © 2016 and limited reproduction rights for personal use are granted for this printing only. This article, in any form, may not be further reproduced without written permission of the publisher and owner, including duplication for not-for-profit purposes. Portions of this article may belong to other agencies; those sections are reproduced here with permission and Alaska Media, LLC makes no provisions for further distribution.